‘KL is injured…’ Ajit Agarkar told why KL Rahul got place in Asia Cup team despite injury

KL Rahul was injured in IPL 2023, and since then he is running out of Team India. Meanwhile, on August 21, Team India was announced for the Asia Cup 2023, where Rahul got a place in the 17-member Team India. KL Rahul is injured and despite this he has been included in Team India. Yes, this has been confirmed by the selector Ajit Agarkar himself. Let us know, what has he said on the injury of this player?

KL Rahul is injured!

Ajit Agarkar, the chief selector of the Indian men’s cricket team, announced Team India for the Asia Cup 2023 in a press conference today. KL Rahul has also been included in Team India’s squad. Although, he is injured, even after that he got a place in Team India. This was confirmed by Agarkar himself.

Talking about this, he said,

Shreyas Iyer has been declared fully fit. KL Rahul is fit but has a swallowing problem.”

he adds,

“That is why Sanju Samson will go with Team India but I am sure the physio will get the reports that all of them are expected to be fit at some stage or the other. If not at the start of the Asia Cup, Rahul might be fit by the second and third games. He is on the verge of recovery. Shreyas Iyer is fit.

Let us tell you that Agarkar did not say anything clearly but indicated in gestures that maybe KL Rahul will prepare for the World Cup through Asia Cup 2023.

Injured in IPL 2023

Significantly, KL Rahul was injured during fielding in IPL 2023. This match was played between Lucknow and Bangalore where Rahul suffered a thigh injury. He then underwent surgery and was ruled out of the WTC Finals 2023.

This year Rahul has played a total of 8 matches for India and scored 264 runs. Please tell that KL Rahul often gets injured only after IPL. Last year also he was injured before the South Africa series. Only then did he make a comeback against Zimbabwe.

Team India for Asia Cup 2023: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Akshar Patel , Shardul Thakur, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Verma, Famous Krishna, Sanju Samson (Backup).

Also read: Team India selection for ODI series against South Africa! 7 IPL stars got a chance

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button