Country: Membership of Wrestling Federation of India suspended, decision taken for this reason

United World Wrestling (UWW) has decided to suspend the membership of Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) indefinitely. This action by the UWW was due to the failure of the WFI to conduct the required elections. Let us tell you that in the Indian wrestling world, there is a long-standing dispute between President Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh and star wrestlers.

repeatedly postponed elections

The WFI has been embroiled in several controversies, due to which its elections have been largely postponed. The federation, which is India’s wrestling governing body, was to hold elections in June 2023. However, the elections have been repeatedly postponed due to protests by Indian wrestlers and legal petitions from various state units.

Efforts were also made for the election

The elections for 15 posts in the governing body of the WFI were due to be held on August 12. On Monday, four candidates from Uttar Pradesh, including Sanjay Singh, a close aide of outgoing Wrestling Federation of India chief Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh, filed nominations for the post at the Olympic Bhavan in New Delhi. Chandigarh Wrestling Association’s Darshan Lal was nominated for the post of general secretary, while Uttarakhand’s SP Deswal was nominated from the Brij Bhushan camp for treasurer.

protests are continuing

The WFI was first suspended in January and again in May after India’s top wrestlers protested its functioning and accused its then president Brij Bhushan of sexually harassing female wrestlers. The day-to-day affairs of the WFI are currently being managed by an ad-hoc committee constituted by the Indian Olympic Association headed by Bhupender Singh Bajwa. Notably, United World Wrestling, the sport’s governing body at the highest level, had warned the WFI of suspension if the elections were delayed.

Maharashtra and Tripura will have no representatives in the elections after the returning officer deemed the claims of both factions “disqualified”, while Tripura has remained unaffiliated since 2016.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button